Onyx Webb Banner 851 x 315

Hello folks and welcome to the Horror Made stop of the Onyx Webb book tour. Today we’re hearing from the author of the book, and then later today you will be reading my review of Book 1.

‡ ——- ‡

What Makes

What Makes Scary, Scary?

Onyx Webb is what we call a multi-genre mash-up. It is paranormal suspense, a thriller, has a little horror, a bit of romance, and more.

As we were first developing this series we had a revelation that changed the entire way we were writing. We had decided, very early on that our main character, Onyx Webb, was a ghost but we were not going to let the readers in on that. It was going to be one of the big reveals at the end.

However, after we stumbled on Kurt Vonnegut’s 8 Rules for Writing, it all changed and this was the one rule that did it: “Give your readers as much information as possible as soon as possible. To heck with suspense.”

And it was by digesting this rule that the coolest thing happened: the more we let readers in on what was going on, the more the suspense we found we could create.

What makes scary, scary?

Which is more terrifying… when the man in the closet (who you did not know was there) jumps out at your character?… or knowing the man in the closet is there… just waiting to pounce on your main character? That’s pretty scary!

So we have worked really hard in creating suspense by letting the audience in on what is happening so they can watch the “horror” happen. Granted, we have plenty of moments that we call “surprise” and those are the things the readers do not know about. But in general, for us, even though our readers don’t know the big picture – the grand unfolding of the series – they are still let in on secrets and other things so that it heightens, rather than reduces, the thrills and the scary.

‡ ——- ‡

About the book

onyx Webb book 1 coverOnyx Webb

Book One

Written by: Richard Fenton and Andrea Waltz

Genre: Paranormal Suspense

Publisher: Lust for Living Press

imprint, Courage Crafters Inc


Book Description:

A multi-genre mash-up that combines elements of supernatural suspense, crime, horror, romance, and more. The Onyx Webb series follows the unusual life of Onyx Webb along with a central group of characters in various locations and times. The billionaire Mulvaney family, piano prodigy Juniper Cole and her brother Quinn, paranormal show hosts Cryer and Fudge, and a few others make up. Written like a book version of a supernatural soap opera, each character’s story moves forward with most every episode. It may appear that the characters are entirely unrelated and yet episode by episode, the connections will become clearer. Like being an inch away from a spider web, with each book, the web will move further and further away revealing the full story of every character and most importantly, the stunning conclusion for Onyx Webb herself.


Find a Copy on Amazon Kindle or Dead Tree Edition


About the Authors

Richard Fenton & Andrea Waltz are best known as the authors of Go for No! (which hit #1 on Amazon’s Sales & Selling list and has remained in the Top 10 for the last five years.) They are also professional speakers who speak internationally to audiences on how to overcome fear of failure and rejection.

Although all of their business books are fables, the Onyx Webb series is their first serious dive into fiction. But Richard and Andrea have been in love with creating stories together since they met almost twenty years ago and even spent some time in Hollywood writing screenplays, being represented by the producer of Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Connect with Them

www.OnyxWebb.com ∇ @OnyxWebb ∇ Facebook ∇ GoodReads


One thought

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s